KIESELSOL

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

arkienow

Junior
Reaction score
I AM A NOVICE WINE MAKER AND HAVE SOME WINE THAT DOESN'T WANT TO CLEAR. I HAVE SOME KIESELSOL, BUT AM NOT SURE WHAT RATIO I USE PER GALLON. IF I READ THE BOTTLE CORRECTLY, I USE 30 TO 50 ML PER GALLON, IS THAT CORRECT?

AND ONCE I'VE ADDED IT, DO I STIR IT OR JUST LET IT SIT?

AND LASTLY, HOW LONG SHOULD IT TAKE TO CLEAR THE WINE.
ALSO, I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF BENTONITE IS BETTER, AND IF SO, WHAT IS THE BEST WAY TO USE IT.

THANKS

arkienow

I would use a blend of both what you have and Chitosan just like what SuperKleer is. Together they work great as one attarcts positive ions and the other negative and you may have both or the other and this may not work much for you. What kind of wine is this and have you already used a fining agent? Did you use enough pectic enzyme as if not you may have a pectin haze which using clearing agents will not work. It also can be a protein haze which fining agents will work a little but most likely not enough. Bentonite in this situation is the key. Tell us more so that we can direct you better please.

I don't have any Chitosan, unless that and the Kieselsol are the same. The wine is pumpkin, and I added all the chemicals just as recommended in the recipe.

If Bentonite would work best, I have that too and can use it, but I need direction as how much to add per gallon, and how to add it, as some of this stuff calls for dilution with water and sitting overnight, etc.
As I said, I am new at this, and this is the first cloudy wine I have had, and don't want to ruin it. I have made several batches of other kinds of wine with great success, my favorite being banana.
Thanks
Lloyd

Thank goodness the caps lock got fixed!
smiley36.gif