Peach wine, stopped fermenting before expected.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello, this is my first attempt at a fruit wine and I have this wee problem.
I have done everything my book has told me to do; crush the peaches, place in a bucket with yeast, sugar, etc and agitate daily for a week. And after this I should strain the liquid into a demi-john, which I did this morning.

It does not appear to be fermenting, no bubbles are escaping from the air lock. I was wondering if I should be adding more yeast to the wine?

Thank you for any help in advance :)

What was the starting gravity? What is it now? What yeast did you use? Whats the temp?

Welcome aboard!!

Like Tom posted - a little more info would help us out.

You did say there are not bubbles in the air lock - i would remove the lid and the airlock of the primary and just cover with a cloth. Yeasts love O2 in primary fermentation.

Pull that off give it a couple good stirs - and it might start fermenting.

I have a batch of peach in the clearing stage and it only took about 4 days for mine to ferment dry. I would check the S.G. first. If you have let it ferment for a week, it may be done.

Thanks for the advice guys, I didn't even think to check the S.G. as the book appeared to indicate it would still need fermenting. But as the above poster says, and the hydrometer confirms, it has fermented dry.

I have a batch of peach in the clearing stage and it only took about 4 days for mine to ferment dry.
Could I ask what this clearing stage entails, I have placed the demi-john into a cool dark area, and I will wait for a dense must to form before racking it, is this what you are doing?

Again, thank you for the advice and the welcome. The forum looks great, just looking through it I've realised my Merlot needs degassing!